Skip to content Skip to navigation

Announcing the Winners of the First Annual Short Story Contest

Jun 9 2014

Posted In:



Congratulations to the winners of the first undergraduate Short Story Contest sponsored by the Taube Center for Jewish Studies.

Grand Prize Winner:

A Man Without a Watch by Beatrice Garrard (sophomore)

Second Place Winner:

Kasanov's Bakery by Max Weiss (freshman)

Third Place Winners:

Tefillin by Alberto Hernandez (senior)
Babel by Kim Leon (senior)

The stories were judged anonymously by a jury of world-renowned authors: Maya Arad, Sara Houghteling, and Tobias Wolff.

Undergrads, stay tuned for the second year of the Short Story Contest!

(Pictured from left to right: Kim Leon, Tobias Wolff, Beatrice Garrard, Sara Houghteling, Max Weiss, Alberto Hernandez, Marie-Pierre Ulloa, and Maya Arad)